Kiss me Goodbye, I’m Defying Gravity

Glee’s cool-off period made me paranoid on what to be expected on the show. I guess it is because I do love High School Musical and Best of Collegiate A capella series. But still I consider Glee as a separate influence that will go directly close to my heart.

It’s been almost a month since I last watched it’s recent episode, “Mash-Up”where they featured Puck singing “Sweet Caroline”. First I have no idea that it is an old song until after searching the net, I found some renditions like David Archuleta’s Studio version while he’s still on the competition.

Well, to the real motive, I do like their arrangement on Wicked’s “Defying Gravity”. It is so amazing that Kurt can sing it in his own note and style, plus  his/her capability to switch notes makes him the song do wonders for him.

Actually, as a self-proclaimed “broadway addict”,  I watched Wicked from Youtube long time ago  and practically didn’t noticed the grandeur of the musical, so as the pieces made. But until I watched Glee’s “Wheels” and got stunned with the diva-off part where Kurt and Rachel got to belt it out against each other. They sang “Defying Gravity” in turns. It got me…actually, Kurt’s version got my senses from the first note then elevated when Rachel got her turn for a belt out.

The song  is all about building confidence, and gathering enough strength to go against the stereotyped thinking of society, or of their surroundings, trying to close their eyes and do defy the norms without any fear regarding the aftermath. As to Kurt’s story, he wants to audition for the piece that is actually his personal favorite, but stereotyped thinking made the piece easily given to Rachel and not available for audition . Kurt only got a chance to try-out or audtion for the song when his dad argued with Mr. Schuester that don’t judge his son because he’s gay. Well, the song I think served it’s purpose 😀

As a usual reaction, I searched the net for possible download sources of the whole song and figured out that there are three versions released, one by Kurt alone, then by Rachel then the actual “Diva-off” duet. {if you’re using Torrent or Bittorrent, check out possible torrent sites that currently hosting mp3s from the Glee’s episode 9; also the whole volume 1 of soundtracks released, also the original arrangement from the broadway “Wicked”}

So check out their versions and tell who’s got the better version

{Rachel’s Version}

{Kurt’s Version}

{Rachel and Kurt’s Diva-off version, without Kurt loosing the high note XD}

And so please do check the original version, actually I only got the original casts’  Tony performance , starring Kristin Chenoweth and Idina Menzel. [Kristin Chenoweth actually appeared as April Rhodes in Glee’s Episode 5  entitled “The Rhodes not taken”.

{after got myself some nifty copies of the Glee and Original versions, I played them in turns almost half day continuously —there are times that I got lost from the momentum due to dialogues of the Oz witches and villagers are included in the original :D}

So that’s for now guys.

So Till Then and Godbless 😀

2 responses

  1. I like this website very much.

    This is really a outstanding place.

    This is not like other money bound web, the content here is super useful.

    I am definitely bookmarking it as well as sharing it with my friends.

    🙂

    November 22, 2009 at 5:48 pm

  2. thanks, comments like that encourages me to be more eager to return and post blogs [sorry for a long hiatus :D]

    December 5, 2009 at 8:30 am

Leave a Reply

