Declare [5] : to LeRoi, the GrooGrux King

“And this year’s Grammy Album of the year goes to “Fealess” Taylor Swift.”

Congrats to Taylor Swift for having that album at young age. She deserves it. But honestly speaking, I’m not a big fan of your music, still I’m amused on how your music entertain people,  how your song become the voice of a certain generation. You had a good fight with Beyonce, Black Eyed Peas, that Lady gaga and my idols, Dave Matthews Band.

I have nothing against with it but I read some tread before the Grammy Awards, it’s about the nominees and who should have won and who will cerainly /obviously will be picked by the named award giving body.

They’re telling  that all of the albums/artists nominated in the Album of the year category, Dave Matthews Band’s  ‘Big Whiskey and the GrooGrux King’ is unlikely to win for the reason they haven’t heard on it,  wasn’t able to land on their iPod and because DMB is only opted by the older generation.  I also cringed when I read  in  one of the thread that “even though it’s evidently  Beyonce, Lady Gaga and Swift had the year’s most successful records and they truly provided the soundtrack to 2009. One of them would be the obvious choice — but the Grammys don’t do obvious. Instead, Grammy voters tend to go for the veterans and the sentimental favorite — and that is the DMB.”

Hello, FYI, DMB have a great fan base and their music is one of a kind, artistically done and full of poetry, well, you might take it againts me, you might think I’m exerting to much effort in buying out others’ take on the nominees but as a DMB fan, thread like those hurts me a lot.

I completed their discography and also got some bootlegs of their live performances. DMB never fails there audiences to have a fantastic ear-gasm. And whenever there’s a buzz of an upcoming DMB album, Fans are having a hard time to set their expectations low.

Dave Matthews Band’s  ‘Big Whiskey and the GrooGrux King’ is their first album after four years and has a darker, heavier sound than previous records, but casual observers might have difficulty distinguishing this new album from the band’s already well-established aesthetic, for better or worse.

The sad part of making this album is the death of their longtime saxophonist, LeRoi Moore which died in an ATV accident. Still DMB was able to collect them selves and continue the album.  ‘Big Whiskey and the GrooGrux King’ was opened by 1:11 minutes of Sax instrumental by the great LeRoi. The cut made introduction to the song “Shake me like a monkey” where the music foreplay begins.

My fave cuts on the album are : “Dive in” because it’s to homey, “Seven” , “Why Am I” a story about celebrating life in order to get over personal pain. and “You and Me”

But the touching cut of the album is “Lying in the Hands of God” , where a  tribute to LeRoi was made, In an MTV News  interview, main songwriter, Dave Matthews told DMB fans

“There was one song called ‘Lying in the Hands of God’ that I wrote the words over the piece, [over] the constructed song that we made,” he said. “I wrote the words and the chorus and all the stuff, and then played it back and it was a duet! It was already there, ‘Roi playing along. And it was bizarre, because we hadn’t really turned the sax up, then we did, and there it was. He was playing along the whole time.”

Well, too much for my side, I don’t expect everybody DMB, but I recommend you to try to listen to other genres available once in awhile, it might open your mind to some good tunes and priceless poetry. So till then, Godspeed and Peace out. 😀

[Pahabol : No offense, but I noticed that DMB is more known to college studes or  grads, they have this kind of market far way different to mainstream or on that matter Pop music– They’re commonly categorized as adult contemporary like Train. Pop songs do rocks to the younger generation, but the evil me says that People who only values pop music and RnB music are  those who never landed on a state to appreciate great and such high valuable music, some tried but they ended up rejecting the art and go back to some easy pop tunes :D, well, that’s only my reaction :D]


4 responses

  1. what a great site and informative posts, I will add a backlink and bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

    February 7, 2010 at 10:46 am

    • Thanks MrBarns, I’ll do my best to keep up this blog and post some random informative posts.:D Again thanks and Godbless

      February 8, 2010 at 5:55 am

  2. Hey very nice blog!!….I’m an instant fan, I have bookmarked you and I’ll be checking back on a regular….See ya 🙂

    February 26, 2010 at 9:01 am

    • Thanks for reading and appreciating my site, expect more contents to come 😀

      February 27, 2010 at 7:08 am

Leave a Reply

