Declare [6] : After a long Hiatus

At last, I just got back from the wild [figuratively speaking] , sorry if I wasn’t able to post anything here due to some reasons: I’m too busy grabbing more time to sleep, since my shift normally starts with 12 midnight. Also I just got into some various video editing engagements, the most recent is an audio-video presentation for the College of Languages and Linguistics of Polytechnic University of the Philippines. And lastly, I’m dealing with several heartburns lately, which I think is alarming.

So before I go back to regular posting of  various contents about my life, i would like to share this modern day classic as my introduction, my comeback after a long hiatus

It’s the song called “In the House of Stone and Light” by Martin Page. I discovered this song while scanning my newly arrived collection of Best of Collegiate Acapella CDs.  I first heard the acapella arrangement by a college acapella group, The Brown Derbies. I got curious about the chorus of the song also the unique musicality of the arrangement did for the the song. it made me land again on youtube to search for the original version of the song. As expected it never failed me, thus I found this video

The original song is same marvelous as the Acapella version. I found the song somehow spiritually charged.  my curiousity made me look for another spec of this infamous classic:

According to Answers.com :

In the House of Stone and Light” was the title of a hit song by British musician Martin Page. The song was released in July 1994 from the album of the same name. The song was a number 14 hit on the U.S. Billboard Hot 100 pop singles chart in 1995and reached number one on the Billboard Adult Contemporary chart.

The title references the Grand Canyon in the state of Arizona in the U.S. Contained within the lyrics are references to Native American peoples and their customs and traditions. The song chronicles the spiritual and physical journey of an unenlightened man as he struggles to become enlightened.

Complete with rich textures, soulful melodies and tribal rhythms, In The House Of Stone and Light – the award-winning chart topper that broke records in the Billboard charts – has been called

In the video of the original song, you might notices of some familiar singers collaborating as musicians on this particular piece. Musical guests include Phil Collins, Robbie Robertson, Paul Moore (The Blue Nile)-keyboards, Geoffrey Oryema-vocals, Brenda Russell-vocals, Jimmy Copley (Tears For Fears, Jeff Beck)-Drums, Neil Taylor (Robbie Williams, Tears For Fears)-Guitar and Bill Dillon (Robbie Robertson, Daniel Lanois, Peter Gabriel, Sarah McLachlan)-Guitars.

Hailing from England, Martin Page was celebrated for writing a string of Pop Hits for other artists in the 80’s, namely, THESE DREAMS (Heart), WE BUILT THIS CITY (Starship), KING OF WISHFUL THINKING and FAITHFUL (Go West), FALLEN ANGEL (Robbie Robertson) and DANCING IN HEAVEN (for his own band Q-Feel). Page’s songs have also been recorded by Earth, Wind & Fire, Maurice White, The Commodores, Barbra Streisand, Neil Diamond, Josh Groban, Bryan Ferry, Paul Young, Lee Ritenour, John Waite, Tina Arena, James Ingram & Carnie Phillips, Kim Carnes,Three Graces and more.

Well that explains the track, please do try to check on this one, and if you have time [and spare money] try to look for a Best of College Acapella CD , School year 1998 in particular, if you want to check out the acapella version of the same song

Well that’s for now…

So Till then and Godspeed 😀


Leave a Reply

