Hoping on Ynvictus

After a long hiatus, i think it’s time to exercise some of my hobbies.  It’s been months since the last time I added something to my sketch collection. I think I become too much depended on Photoshop and Illustrator, ending up with artworks in vectors.  Well I miss spending hours on a single hand drawn  character design, sharpening some pencil and ending up with piles of crumpled papers due to unsatisfied pencil strokes. I must admit, the more crumpled paper and hours sacrificed on a single sketch, the more I enjoy the end product. I am so proud with my sketches, they depicts some of my inner madness [or sometimes grunge ?] and good thing I was able to keep some of them, and everytime I flip my clearbook of sketches, i cant help but to stare and study each strokes I made. it’s like looking back to the decisions I made in the past.

Second of my hobby is to write Filipino Short stories.  this is most rewarding than sketching and photography. It’s not only  I got a chance to meet some people which mostly came from my online readers on filipinowriter.com, but it gave me a chance to know people’s various reaction on a certain scenario, it’s like studying Communication Theories and Models all over again. It is surprising when I started gaining  some recognition and awards in writing short stories in my native tongue. My very first award came from THE CATALYST during my freshmen year in college. I have no idea that a story like “Ang gunita mula sa kanyang naging hukbo” will win 2nd on short story category and will change my perspective on writing stories, also  it helped me shaped my own style of storytelling .

Now, I miss engaging on those activities, I have so many thoughts and ideas in my head, waiting for the day they’ll be drawn or be written. just thinking on the idea that I might forget some of those precious gems makes me frustrated and giving a hard time to sleep.

So I decided to file a leave 2 weeks ago to concentrate on a certain workshop. I also see it as an opportunity to  write and draw again, time to sharpen those pencils and give life to some of the fictional characters that been locked up in my made up universe for several months.

I hope Noid and the whole Filipinowriter.com community will able to welcome me back and get some constructive reviews. for my comeback, I decided to do the full length  version of my story concept ” Ynvictus”.

JEREMY : one of the character designs originally made for the theater proposal "Ynvictus"

To those who able to read “Ynvictus” story concept during the Drama and Theater days way back in college ,  seven, six years ago, I hope you’ll able to read the whole story of that infamous proposal.

Well that’s me hoping on “Ynvictus”

So Till then and Godspeed 😀


2 responses

  1. Robert van

    Dude, go0dluck on your endeavors. Buzz me when its done. I want to read your story “Ynvictus”

    May 29, 2010 at 7:12 am

    • sure bro. thanks. i’ll post the link on my facebook account 😀

      May 29, 2010 at 7:29 am

Leave a Reply

