Bookworm Deluxe [nom.nom.nom] II

I was intrigued when I first this certain trailer. It looks like some sort of a short film but I was surprised when it turns out to be a trailer for an upcoming book.  Nice publicity I should say. I’m not a Twilight saga fan but I love the idea of someone from the history books was able slash some vampire throats.  It’s like BLADE circa 1800s.

I’m sure a certain bookstore would be having copies of this novel and they didn’t fail me with this one.  I’m a bookworm and it’ll be appropriate that a bookstore would be my fave hang-out. I love scanning book titles and reading short synopsis written in book sleeves. I can do it for hours but since I have a shift that day, the joy was shortened. Anyway, I asked a staff about that book and God knows how fast they found the book for me. Halatang kabisado nila ang librong tinda nila.

And there he is, he dashed through the bookshelves and suddenly stopped and grabbed the book. The book glimmered because it’s covered with plastic but that moment is magical. Again, finding the book is magical. Then the book salesman suggested some book title with same genre. He even gave me the new book from Neil Gaiman, as he points out the “M is for Magic” book in my hand that time.  It is so refreshing to get a bookworm salesman, and I only get that on this specific bookstore.  It never alienates their bookworm client, that’s why I prefer this store when it comes to buying books and graphic novels. “Maybe next time?” I told him, as I remember I have to stick with my budget. A thousand bucks is not bad for a month worth of books.

I ended up with 4 books.

As early as now,  I’m starting to hard some film studies related books. I want to fill my library with many references once I continue pursuing masters.  I feel in love with these two old books. The first one is “The World of OZ” [A fantastic Expedition over the rainbow] by Allen Eyles. [published : 1985], the book tells about OZ as a phenomenon, starting with L. Frank Baum novel up to Judy Garland’s portrayal that made the literary piece more immortal. I like the trivia and stories behind the phenomenon in this book, that’s why I think this is best for keeps. Anyway, did you know that Michael Jackson and Diana Ross played a Broadway version of Wizard of Oz?  I can’t scan now the picture but seeing young MJ and Diana Ross is so surreal.

The second Film study related book is entitled “Future Tense : The cinema of science fiction” by John Brosnan. [Published : 1978] It’s about the insights and dreams of people involved in the Sci-Fi Cinema. The book is written late 70’s, so expect that you’ll disagree with some of their insights about the future of sci-fi cinema, some of them are pessimists but mostly optimistic. I am proud to know that many of those dreamers acknowledged in the book achieved something today in their field, from screenplay up to Visual / special effects. This book somehow gave me sort of a time traveler feel while studying 70’s take with sci-fi storytelling. I do recommend this book.

Then came my new babies. “Abraham Lincoln : Vampire Hunter” by Seth Grahame-Smith  and “M is for magic” by my fave author, Neil Gaiman.

Neil Gaiman is such a genius for his chosen genre. If you watched “Mirrormask”, “Stardust” , “Beowulf” and “Coraline” , you just watched a Neil Gaiman screenplay.  He reminds me of H.P. Lovecraft because of the surreal details he uses on his storytelling.  I love the book so far, it’s a collection of interesting short stories for young readers [also young at heart]. I also love his introduction in this book. “Short stories are tiny windows into other worlds and other minds and other dreams. They are journeys you can make to the far side of the universe and still be back in time for dinner.  Another good thing about a book of short stories is if there’s one you don’t enjoy, there will be another one along soon.”. I’m in the second short story so far and I am intrigued on the other shorts, but I don’t want to rush the book, I want to linger it. 😀

Then the current star of my mini library. “Abraham Lincoln : Vampire Hunter” by Seth Grahame-Smith. I must admit, I wasn’t able to open it yet because I want to finish “M is for magic” first but I am excited for it, maybe I’ll be having this book read on a long bus ride to Baguio this coming November. The books trailer made me interested, as well the reviews are promising, and they say it’s not your typical Twilight story.  Well, hopefully, this book will; give a blast once I opened it. To give you an idea, here’s the trailer I’m talking about.

I am looking on his first book “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies” , unfortunately my beloved bookstore don’t have it anymore, they suggest to check other branches.  By the way, the bookstore that I’m talking about is PowerBooks. Everyone who buys books on that store surely experienced their top notch assistance as if they treat everyone as their book club buddies.  Unlike NB and FB [just guess] who just sell books without any knowledge about their merchandise.  I am always disgusted when I approach saleslady about a book and they just point me on a rack, assuming a book written by a Filipino Author would be in the Filipiniana section, not knowing it might be on the graphic novel, specialty book or international bestseller section. Tsk. Tsk. What a shame. So Kudos PowerBooks on this one :D, don’t stop giving opportunities on book lovers.

So that’s for now guys.

So Till Then and Godbless 😀


One response

  1. This page seems to recieve a great deal of visitors. How do you promote it? It gives a nice individual spin on things. I guess having something useful or substantial to talk about is the most important thing.

    May 5, 2011 at 7:08 am

Leave a Reply

